EVENING RENEWAL

My Father
If your mercy had bounds, where would be my refuge from just wrath?
But your love in Christ is without measure.
Thus, I present myself to you
with sins of commission and omission,
against you, my Father,
against you, adorable redeemer,
against you and your strivings, O Holy Spirit,
against the dictates of my conscience,
against the precepts of your Word,
against my neighbors and myself.

Enter not into judgment with me,
For I plead no righteousness of my own,
and have no cloak for iniquity.
Pardon my day dark with evil.
This night I renew my penitence.
Every morning I vow to love you more fervently,
to serve you more sincerely,
to be more devoted in my life,
to be wholly yours;
Yet I soon stumble, backslide,
and have to confess my weakness, misery and sin.

But I bless you that the finished work of Christ needs no addition
from my doings,
that his oblation is sufficient satisfaction
for my sins.
If future days be mine, help me to amend my life,
to hate and abhor evil,
to flee the sins I confess.
Make me more resolute, more watchful, more prayerful.
Let no evil fruit spring from evil seeds my hands have sown;
Let no neighbor be hardened in vanity and folly
by my want of circumspection.

If this day I have been ashamed of Christ and his Word,
or have shown unkindness, malice, envy, lack of love,
unadvised speech, hasty temper,
let it be no stumbling block to others,
or dishonor to your name.
O help me to set an upright example that will ever rebuke vice,
allure to goodness,
and evidence that lovely are the ways of Christ.

(A Puritan Prayer)

Leave a Reply

