Atheist Bus Campaign

"This campaign to put alternative slogans on London buses will make people think – and thinking is anathema to religion." (Richard Dawkins)

I wish I had known before now that all that was required to get people to think was to put a slogan on the side of a London bus. I’m guessing though that this little advertising gimmick will do for atheism what people like Rob Bell, Tony Campolo, and Doug Pagitt do for Christianity.

atheist bus

Consider:

1. Theos, a Christian group in the UK, donated to the campaign because PROBABLY “militant atheists are…great adverts for Christianity”.

2. Rabid atheist Richard Dawkins’ support for this campaign PROBABLY has reinvigorated the public discussion of God within the UK.

3. This will PROBABLY remind people about God and promote the gospel as it gives Christians another reason to share their faith.

What is there about God that causes atheists so much worry anyway?

9 Responses to Atheist Bus Campaign

  1. “What is there about God that causes atheists so much worry anyway?”

    It’s not God that worries us. You can’t be worried by something that doesn’t exist (yes, yes, that’s just my opinion, of course). No, it is the people who believe in Him that worry us. That’s totally different.

  2. jerryk says:

    Hi Ubiquitous Che and thanks for surfing by and taking the time to post a comment. What is it about someone like let’s say, Mansuur Mohammed, that causes you so much worry? In case you don’t know who this Christian was, you can read about the last few minutes of his life in the article I posted titled “What Will You Do for the Sake of The Gospel”.

  3. Actually, no. It’s not the threat of the nutjobs that I’m talking about – although, let’s be honest, they are a worry.

    No, it’s the meek, mild, moderate, run-of-the-mill voting religious community that worries me. The kinds of people that will be opposed to things like stem cell research because their religion implies that we a blob of cells on a petri dish carries the same moral ‘dignity’ as an eight-year old paraplegic who is in need of the very best treatment. The people who would vote to take away the right (or refuse to give it) for a consenting pair of homosexual adults be given all the rights due to a married couple in the eyes of the civil courts. The people who would vote to take away all standards of integrity from science education so that bronze-age fairytales could be taught side-by-side with proven scientific theories, as if they were equal. The people who would vote to restrict my freedom of speech through the use of ‘blasphemy’ laws. The people who would do everything in their power to worm their petty little noses into my work, my relationships, my family, my home, my schedule, my wallet and my bedroom – all in the name of religion.

    There’s always gonna be crazies in the world. But in the context of religion, it’s not the crazies that worry me – it’s the sane ones who, because of religion, would seek to impose adherence to their beliefs upon me without my consent.

    I don’t live in Britain. However, the fact that the decisions reached in private courts based on sharia law are respected in the eyes of the Crown frightens me in a way that all the terrorism in the world never could.

  4. Oh – and lets not forget the people who would tell aids-ridden Africa that condoms are permeable to HIV, so they shouldn’t bother using them. That little gem was from officials from the Vatican.

  5. jerryk says:

    Hi Ubiquitous and thanks for stopping back by.

    My goodness but you seem to have a long list of phobias. That “There’s Probably No God. Now Stop Worrying and Enjoy Your LIfe” slogan isn’t working out too good for you, huh.

    Sad, really. Have you considered changing your diet?

  6. -phobia
    suff.

    An intense, abnormal, or illogical fear of a specified thing: claustrophobia.

    No, I wasn’t giving you a list of phobias. My fears regarding the actions of the moderate faithful aren’t illogical, and it doesn’t result in the intense panic of a true phobia.

    First you tried to dismiss the atheist bus slogan by brushing it off as ‘fear of God’. I corrected you by pointing out that it is the faithful that concerns us, not your imaginary friend.

    Then you tried to dismiss that by claiming I was just reacting to extremism – “Mansuur Mohammed”, I think you put it. I corrected you on this too, by pointing out it is the impositions that very many moderate religious voters would like to impose on non-believers without our consent.

    Now you’re trying to dismiss my list of very apt criticisms by labeling it as a list of ‘phobias’ and implying that I’m overreacting. I’m not. Everything on that list is really happening, all of it is in the name of religion, and it’s all bad.

    We have a right to be worried about the actions of the faithful, and we have a right to say so. So no – you don’t get to condescend to us nonbelievers anymore.

  7. jerryk says:

    Hi Ubiquitous and thank you again for your comments. I’m not trying to be unkind. You keep creating straw men then point at them as the source of your worries. You may not call that a phobia, but it does demonstrate a lack of logic. You then dismiss as an “imaginary friend” the One you should fear, God.

    It appears that that what you have failed to take into consideration is that you do have to face His judgment one day. Have you ever told a lie? Have you ever took something that belonged to someone else? Have you ever took His name in vain? Have you ever looked at someone with lust? If you have (I’m not judging you), when you stand before Him you will be condemned as a lying, thieving, blasphemer, and an adulterer at heart. The Bible says that all liars, thieves, and the sexual immoral will have their place in the lake of fire and that anyone who takes His name in vain will not be held guiltless on that day.

    Does that concern you at all? It does me, please stop and listen to your conscience before it is too late.

  8. Does that concern you at all? It does me, please stop and listen to your conscience before it is too late.

    Heh. You’re cute when you don’t listen.

    I’ve said it already in this thread: I am not concerned in the least by your imaginary friend. I am concerned by you. And my conscience is fine – an absence of cognitive dissonance helps a lot with that. If you’re really as concerned as you claim to be, perhaps you should consider trying genuine unbelief? You might find it to be a relief to realize that the only reason to believe in any form of an afterlife is fear, as you have demonstrated so wonderfully in your last post.

    You can be a slave to fear, or you can free yourself of that particular mind-forged manacle. Have you considered giving freedom a try?

Leave a Reply

