Misplaced Faith is a Dangerous Thing

Mirror Mirror I had intended on putting up a series of posts about how common murder is in our world. One of the common traits of mass murderers, I mean really BIG murderers, murderers that murder hundreds, thousands, and millions, is that they are all faithful to something – an ideology, a religion, an ethnic group, etc. The object of their faith is where they get off track, misplaced faith is a dangerous thing. Thus the name of the series: Actions of The Faithful…

Just before I published the first post of the series, whimsically I changed the last part of the title from …4 Atheists to …5 Atheists under the assumption that an atheist would predictably buzz by and add a comment about how atheism is misunderstood, or wrongly blamed, or attacked, or about how grand their humanistic philosophy, or any of the other long list of ‘wrongs’ and fears from which they suffer. This is an action typical of people who have a misplaced faith. As predicted one did, well actually two as of now, so really I could change the title to Actions of the Faithful…6 Atheists thanks to them. I wonder how long it’s been since they have looked into a mirror?

The next post was going to be about Nationalism (as in Actions of The Faithful…5 Nationalists) and, yes, it was going to list the number of murders for which they were responsible. One of the people on that list happened also to be listed in the first post (can you guess who?), two of them are even held in high esteem by some people today.

But on second thought, I think I’ll stop with just the first of the intended series. Remember Mr. and Ms. Atheists you made this one about atheism, I didn’t. You should really be more careful about jumping to conclusions, but like I said and as you demonstrated, misplaced faith is a dangerous thing.

8 Responses to Misplaced Faith is a Dangerous Thing

  1. Lucy Lowe says:

    Hi,

    You put up a blog suggesting atheism was behind the actions of 4 vile dictators.

    I responded with a comment that this was obviously nonsense.

    You pat yourself on the back for having the foresight to know someone woud point out the pointlessness of the post.

    I guess the joke’s on me! 🙂

  2. jerryk says:

    Hi Lucy and thanks for visiting again.

    Just to be clear, I didn’t suggest atheism “was behind the actions of the 4 vile dictators”; you inferred that and then blamed me for your conclusions. I’m not blaming you and I’m not judging you, we all do that to one degree or another; I’m no less guilty of it than you or anyone else. Have you ever thought about what it means if you are also wrong about God—does that possibility concern you at all?

  3. Lucy Lowe says:

    “Have you ever thought about what it means if you are also wrong about God—does that possibility concern you at all?”

    Hi Jerry,

    I could be wrong about there being a God and that God could be the Christian, Islamic, Hindi, Viking, Ancient Greek, one of thousands and thousands of others or just a God we don’t actually have an idea of. If a God or Gods does exist there are gonna be a huge number of people wrong along with all the atheists.

    It isn’t something that concerns me. As there isn’t actually any evidence of any of the Gods I don’t believe in any of them and don’t worry how each of them would judge my actions. Furthermore, if there is a God and she sends me to hell for the “sin” of not believing in and worshipping her then I wouldn’t consider her someone worthy of my worship in the first place.

    Anyways, have a lovely day 🙂

    Lucy

  4. jerryk says:

    Hi Lucy,

    “If a God or Gods does exist there are gonna be a huge number of people wrong along with all the atheists.”

    You hit that nail square on the head.

    To not believe in God because there are any number of wrong concepts about what or who God is, is as silly as believing that there is not a right answer to the equation 1+1 because there happens to be an infinite set of wrong answers. Just as 1+1 has a correct answer, the question of the existence of God has a correct answer too.

    When we see a building, we know that there was a builder; when we see a painting we know that there was a painter; and when we see creation, we know that there was a Creator. The proof of the existence of God is everywhere and all around us, all we need are eyes that see and a brain that works to prove it.

    The god you described (“…if there is a God and she sends me to hell for the “sin” of not believing in and worshipping her then I wouldn’t consider her someone worthy of my worship in the first place.”) isn’t a just god and doesn’t deserve worship let alone respect. I therefore don’t at all disagree with your statement.

    The true God however is both Holy and Just and He will judge us for what we have done. By virtue of His creation we know He exists and because He has written His law on our conscience, we know right from wrong. For example have you ever told a lie? Have you ever stolen something? Have you ever taken the name of God in vain? If you have (and I’m not judging you), you will be condemned as a lying, thieving, blasphemer and the judgment will be an eternity in hell.

    I hope this makes sense, I hope you are concerned. Eternity is a long time.

  5. Lucy Lowe says:

    Hi again Jerry,

    There are indeed any number of concepts of who or what God there might be but as there is no more evidence for one above any other I feel the only sensible line to take is:

    There is no evidence for any of the Gods therefore I don’t believe any of the Gods exist.

    I don’t consider all we see around us as proof of a God but in any case, as an argument it only supoports the notion of a God – it says nothing of what that God is. Even if I accepted the notion that there must be a creator (which I don’t) there’s no reason for me to believe it was a Christian God rather than Zeus, Thor or Mohammed.

    I appreciate your concern but I hope you don’t have sleepless nights over invented concepts like hell.

    Take Care and have a fab day 🙂

  6. jerryk says:

    Hi Lucy,

    I’m reminded of the story of the blind person who refused to stop walking toward the edge of the cliff despite having received many warnings of the fall to come because he didn’t see any evidence of it himself. What would it take to convince you otherwise?

  7. Lucy Lowe says:

    Hi Jerry,

    I’m reminded of the story of the blind man who refused to walk for fear of there being cliffs all around him, despite the fact he was standing in the middle of as beautiful field. He didn’t see any evidence for himself, and yet still he was convinced.

    I would accept the God theory if there were any evidence suggesting one of them existed. By evidence I mean something which could be observed and tested and which, if repeated, could be expected to show the same results.

    🙂

  8. jerryk says:

    Hi Lucy,

    No problem. You said you don’t accept the evidence of creation as proof of the existence of God. I appreciate your openness to reconsider that in light of the evidence. Here are three tests you can perform yourself:

    (1) Take a jar, fill it with nothing and wait for something to appear. The first part of the experiment will take some time to set up but once you have, I suggest you determine an appropriate length of time to wait. Otherwise your descendents will still be waiting long after you have stepped off that cliff.

    (2) Take another jar, fill it with a rock, or sand, or air, your favorite teddy bear, a Toyota Camry, etc. (it doesn’t matter what as long as it is inorganic) then wait for life to appear. The conditions for this test are much easier to set up then in the first one, although the caveat about establishing an appropriate length of time for the experiment to run still applies.

    (3) The third experiment has the virtue of being much more exciting: take your favorite explosive (dynamite, TNT, C4, Blackcat firecrackers, nuclear bomb, etc.), light the fuse and observe (from a safe distance of course) for the appearance of order from the ensuing chaos.

    As you required, all the tests are repeatable and reasonably can be expected to show the same results: something cannot come from nothing, life does not come from non-life, and order cannot come from chaos. Look closely at the results however and you will discover their Creator.

    P.S.,

    Your blind man demonstrated a reasonable fear not knowing what would befall him with the next step, fortunately their is cure for such blindness. This is how Jesus put it: “…I came into this world, that those who do not see may see…”.

Leave a Reply

